Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990

What is ADA?

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 prohibits discrimination on the basis of a disability. Texas A&M University (TAMU) is committed to maintaining an accessible campus community and providing reasonable accommodations to qualified students, faculty, staff and visitors, including making its web sites accessible and usable. 

How do I report ADA issues?

If you need information regarding ADA support for specific services, please contact the persons listed below. Personal information exchanged in an effort to receive a reasonable accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act will be treated in a confidential manner.

If you are experiencing difficulty accessing a Texas A&M Campus location due to a disability, please identify the specific campus location and the access issue.

State law requires that you be informed of the following:

  1. you are entitled to request to be informed about the information about yourself collected by use of this form (with a few exceptions as provided by law);
  2. you are entitled to receive and review that information; and
  3. you are entitled to have the information corrected at no charge to you.

Report an ADA Concern

Contacts

Area of Responsibility Groups Served Contact Phone Number E-mail Address

ADA Coordinator - ADA Complaints

All Margaret (Peggy) B. Zapalac

 979-845-8115

ADA.coordinator@tamu.edu
Athletics All Mike Caruso 979-845-8915 mcaruso@athletics.tamu.edu
Employment & Academic Issues Faculty Blanca Lupiani 979-845-4274 blupiani@tamu.edu
Employment - Accommodations & Other Inquiries Staff Wanda Boyd 979-862-3331 wboyd@tamu.edu
Employment - Accommodations Student Employees Colleen Sisco 979-845-0686 csisco@tamu.edu
Academic Accommodations Students Kristie Orr 979-845-1637 kristieorr@tamu.edu
General Inquiries & Program Access All Julie Kuder 979-845-8116 jkuder@tamu.edu
General Inquiries & Program Access All Annette Wallis 979-862-7737 a-wallis@tamu.edu
IT Accessibility - Electronic & Information Resources All Cynthia Kauder 979-862-6834 ckauder@tamu.edu
Reed Arena All Leslie Lamkin 979-862-7330 llamkin@athletics.tamu.edu
Special Events All Billy Bielamowicz 979-845-8903 b-bielamowicz@tamu.edu
Transportation Services All Therese Kucera 979-862-7275 tkucera@tamu.edu

Applicable Rules and SAPs

SAP 29.01.99.M0.01  Web Accessibility and Usability Procedures (including linking and indexing)  (http://rules.tamu.edu/PDFs/29.01.04.M1.01.pdf)

SAP 33.06.01.M0.01 Alternate Work Location for Nonfaculty Employees (http://rules-saps.tamu.edu/PDFs/33.06.01.M0.01.pdf)

SAP 33.06.01.M0.02 Alternate Work Location – Faculty (http://rules-saps.tamu.edu/PDFs/33.06.01.M0.02.pdf)

Educational Information

What happens when I file an ADA Complaint?

Students, faculty, staff, and visitors may submit ADA requests for programs and activities on the TAMU campus or sponsored by TAMU.  The requests may involve accessibility to programs and facilities or discrimination in programs and activities.

When the ADA Coordinator receives an ADA request, you will be contacted to let you know that your request has been received.  You may also be asked for additional information so that your request can be directed to the appropriate office for response.  Some request may involve the services of more than one office.  The ADA Coordinator assists in coordinating services provided by other offices. 

For more information, see the examples of services listed below.

  • Disability Services offers accommodation coordination, evaluation referral, disability-related information, adaptive technology services, sign language interpreting and transcriptions services for academically related purposes, and makes referrals for other resources.  Disability Services publishes a Faculty Resource guide http://disability.tamu.edu/facultyguide to explanation of the rights and responsibilities of instructors as well as other helpful information.  Disability Services also provides a Resource and Referral Guide for students, faculty, staff, and visitors http://disability.tamu.edu/resources.
  • The Dean of Faculties Office works with faculty to address faculty work-related accessibility and discrimination related issues.
  • Human Policy and Practice Review responds to ADA issues.  For more information see http://employees.tamu.edu/ppr/ada/
  • The ADA Coordinator will work with Disability Services, Dean of Faculties Office, and Human Resources in conjunction with third party service providers regarding facility access, signage, and food allergy issues.
  • Transportation Services provides information regarding:
  • Visitors with disabilities may be on campus for tours, special events, continuing education, and programs for minors.  You may contact the ADA Coordinator, the visitor’s Center, Athletics, or the program sponsor in advance of the event so reasonable accommodations can be arranged.
  • Information about Web Accessibility from Information Technology http://itaccessibility.tamu.edu/
  • Complaints:  Students, faculty, staff, third parties, and applicants for employment or admission who want to file a complaint should notify the Dean of Student Life, Associate Dean of Faculties, or Associate VP, Human Resources.  See the Notice of Nondiscrimination and Abuse for official contacts.  You may also contact the ADA Coordinator who will direct you to the appropriate office.

Please contact the ADA Coordinator at ADA.Coordinator@tamu.edu or 979.845.0977 if you have additional questions or need further assistance. 

Related Laws and Guidance

Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973; 29 U.S.C., section 701 and section 794[a] and 28 C.F.R. section 35.107; and the 20 U.S.C.; 42 U.S.C., Chapter 126, beginning at section 12101, as amended.